People Often Wonder…

Hi, my name is Jessica Ferri (you can call me Jess).  I am 29 years old, and live in New Zealand with my husband and our daughter, my guide dog and a cat.  I have been blind since I was a baby (I was not born blind-that’s a question I get asked a lot).  Another question I have been asked a lot is “Is your husband sighted?”

A lot of people have often wondered how I manage with everyday tasks, and now add to that being a very proud Mum of a nearly 7 month old daughter :).  I have a lot of help from family and friends, and I also have some cool gagits such as a pen friend which I use to label things such as food (tins of tomatoes, and Maggi packet mixes), and my colour coder which tells me what colour clothes are so I can sort them to do my washing.  I wouldn’t be without these pieces of equipment, oh and my liquid level indicator which allows me to make a hot drink.

The big thing for me now, especially being a Mum, is having a good routine-I can’t function without it.  It was important for me even before I had our daughter.  I also have cards which have both Braille and print on them, so whoever is with me knows what’s been done and what needs to be done.  They have Velcro on the back, which attaches to another piece of cardboard with Velcro on it too-then when things are done, I pull them off and put them in a container, and then put the next ones up.

There is a lot more I could mention here, but I will leave them for future posts, as well as youtube videos and podcasts :).

Thank you for reading and please watch this space! :).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *